Is that really a…

Returning from Kentucky this evening, I saw what I believe was a groundhog.  On my way to run an errand about 8pm, I saw 2 deer grazing in my apartment complex.  Then, to top it off, Tim and I saw a fucking Mountain Goat!!!!  Freakin’ Awesome.  It was up on the really steep side of a hill (mountain??), grazing away.  We saw a wild turkey the other week, by the side of the interstate.  West Virginia certainly has an interesting variety of wildlife.  And, because I can’t get over it, seeing that goat was crazy cool.  Sure, I’ve seen them on National Geographic or in a zoo, but never just hanging out where nature intended.

 

 

One response to “Is that really a…

  • Sherri Newman

    That IS freakin’ awesome! I came face to face with one on a mountain trail when I was 16 – I’ll never forget it. My dad had dragged me and my brother on this 2-mile MOUNTAIN trail up in Washington just so we could see some mountain goats. We got all the way to the top of the mountain before 6:30 a.m. – and no goats. Needless to say, I was not in the best of moods. In a huff, I started back down the trail, gazing at my shoes, and madder than hell. Happened to look up, and right on the trail about 20 feet from me was the mountain goat. Stopped me dead in my tracks – I figured it was going to kill me or something. We both stood there for about 10 seconds, just frozen, and then it ran off. Amazing memory!

Leave a Reply

