Best Apology Ever

Last week, we received two cards on the same day.  The first was a Thanksgiving card, which was lovely.  Seeing the return address on the second card, it took me a few moments to figure out who had sent it, and once I did, I immediately laughed.  And laughed.  And laughed.  I laughed from the mailbox, down the stairs, down the hall, down some more stairs and into our apartment where I tossed the card to my husband.

The girl who hit my car earlier this month sent us a card.  She actually works with my husband, and we were both on our way to where they work when it happened.  I thought it was a funny, and ultimately sweet gesture.  Her note inside was the best, as she wrote that she looked all over the card section, but there are no ‘Sorry I crashed into your car’ cards.  And she sent us a gift card too, so we can go out for dinner some night.

It’s not often (if ever?) that a complete stranger can ruin one day and then make another.  Sure, I’m still in a rental after 2.5 weeks, I miss my vehicle and all my spoiled amenities, but that’s okay.  Accidents happen and most of the time they are minor, and sometimes the unexpected can come out of it.  Personally, I’m looking forward to a free dinner.

Leave a Reply

