Piiiiiigs! and the Rice Dilemma

Second in line, first in topic. So my husband and I cannot, and I mean *cannot* cook rice perfectly for anything. Years ago we gave up cooking ‘real’ rice and went for the minute rice. I don’t know what it is. I follow the instructions and it all goes wrong. Tonight we made saffron rice, and from the last few times we’ve made it, I knew to add an additional cup of water. Liquid boils, add rice, simmer for 20 minutes. Easy-peasy. Right? Not so much.  After 20-something minutes and all the liquid simmering out, the rice was still a little crunchy, so I boiled a cup of water in the microwave and added that. Finally, after about 35 minutes, the rice was finished. No longer crunchy. Tim called it watery, but I prefer to think it has a creamy texture. Either way, we got delicious rice for burritos night.

Making slight progress on my reading this week, I was reading a chapter of Last Argument of Kings and the character Glotka takes a meeting in a slaughterhouse. Filled with pigs. I immediately thought, ‘Never trust a pig farmer’, thanks to Guy Ritchie and Snatch. When the sentence, “You know, these things will eat anything.” came around, I laughed and laughed. This resulted in quoting that to my husband, leading us to quoting various lines from the movie Snatch and then watching Snatch, where we spent another 2 hours quoting the movie during the movie. So thanks, Joe Abercrombie, for the laughable pigs and another viewing of a favorite movie. I do love Guy Ritchie, so I’ll leave you with a quote from said film. 🙂

Avi: Why do they call him the Bullet-Dodger?

Bullet Tooth Tony: ‘Cause he dodges bullets, Avi.

 

One response to “Piiiiiigs! and the Rice Dilemma

Leave a Reply

