Not What I Ordered

Toast:
– noun
1.
sliced bread that has been browned by dry heat.

– verb (used with object)
2.
to brown, as bread or cheese, by exposure to heat.

We should all take notice of the word ‘brown’ in those definitions.

This morning, I was early for work so I went to Tim Hortons for the first time. It’s WV’s answer to a coffee shop. There are only two Starbucks in/around Charleston: 1 in the hospital and 1 in the mall. Not convenient for early mornings. And the only Panera isn’t very close to me either.
At Tim Hortons, I ordered a toasted everything bagel with cream cheese (b/c they had no sesame seed bagels) and a chocolate glazed doughnut.
Herein lies my issue. Panera decently toasts their bagels, not quite as much as I love, but pretty darn close. My bagel this morning wasn’t toasted. Wasn’t even warm. Yes, the cream cheese was cold, but so was the bread. It’s my understanding toasted items are hot and noticeably browner.

I’m not sure when restaurants in this part of the country stopped actually toasting things. Warmed does not equal toasted. I’m sorry, but it really doesn’t. I can’t speak for other areas, but it is the same in KY. Half the time if you order a grilled cheese, it arrives as the lightest shade of brown that could be called that, which really means it’s two butter-soaked pieces of bread with almost melted cheese. Uuurgh.

My doughnut this morning also turned out to be not what I ordered. The whole thing only cost $3.07, so I guess I can’t be too surprised.

People may knock places like Starbucks and Panera, but I never have a bad experience at those establishments. Never.
Maybe that’s why some of us are willing to pay a bit extra.

One response to “Not What I Ordered

Leave a Reply

