Quote Day #11

After I figured out that I was going to like every Mumford & Sons song I came across, I finally got smart and hit the Complete My Album button on iTunes. Better late than never.

 

‘Rip the earth in two with your mind

Seal the urge which ensues with brass wires.

I never meant you any harm

Your tears feel warm as they fall on my forearm.

 

But close my eyes for awhile

And force from the world a patient smile.

 

How can you say that your truth is better than ours?

Shoulder to shoulder, now brother, we carry no arms

The blind man sleeps in the doorway, his home

If only I had an enemy bigger than my apathy I could have won.

 

But I gave you all … I gave you all … I gave you all

 

Close my eyes for awhile

And force from the world a patient smile.

 

But I gave you all … I gave you all … I gave you all

 

And you rip it from my hands and you swear it’s all gone

And you rip out all I have just to say that you’ve won.

And you rip it from my hands and you swear it’s all gone

And you out all I have just to say that you’ve won.

You won, now you won.

 

But I gave you all.’

–Mumford & Sons/Sigh No More – I Gave You All

 

 

Leave a Reply

